Only a Sith deals in absolutes.

tumblr_inline_n4c49qf8ry1rkhelk

Never discount the ability of religion to draw an insurmountable division between people where none need exist. We can’t be friends because of what you choose to believe. Understand this isn’t my choice, but yours by admission. So you believe? You have that right and I defend your right, but don’t ever ask me to respect your beliefs if I do not. If you ask me the question, i’ll give you the answer. If you ask me if I have faith (belief without evidence) I will tell you straight, and understand this; you have no right to not be offended. You also have lost that right if you asked the question expecting variable outcomes.

I have the integrity to say ‘I don’t know’. Now there is a deeply profoundly powerful set of words. Many who purport to ‘know’ with absolute certainty that which either cannot be (yet) or for which there is no evidence of are not only lacking humility but employing fallacious reasoning.

Personal beliefs are rarely if ever private, and if you require me to ‘believe’ (without empirical evidence) to be a friend you have already demonstrated moral turpitude.

Only a Sith deals in absolutes.

Leave a Reply

